“A Healthy Way to Start Your Day”

One of my biggest criticisms about the food industry in America is the misleading food claims on packaged products. For example, on most cereal boxes and on TV commercials food companies claim that their product is “a healthy way to start the day.” The average American does not have an extensive knowledge about nutrition, so my question is how they would know any better? When one reads the word healthy, why should they not believe that? The truth is that if you were to look at the nutrition labels on boxes of cereal in the super market, most of them have more than 5 grams of sugar per serving which is a high sugar content per serving. Go ahead, walk down the cereal isle and see for yourself, you will be surprised.. I know that I was.

The solution is to eat foods that are not packaged. Below you will find my my all time favorite breakfast. Yes, it takes longer to make this breakfast than it does to pour a bowl of cereal however, the 10-15 minutes a day that you spend making this breakfast will add time and quality to your life.

This is a 2 part breakfast that consists of oatmeal and eggs.

Part 1: Oatmeal w/ cinnamon, berries and pecans

My favorite oats are the Irish rolled oats from Trader Joes, they come in a white can and can be found in the oats section of the cereal isle. Once a week I do a food prep in which I cook 1 cup of dry rolled oats with 2 cups of unsweetened vanilla almond milk. After I slow cook the oats,I put them in a container in the fridge.

Every morning I pour almond milk into a small pot (just enough to cover the surface of the pot) and scoop 1/2 a cup of cooked oats into the pan to heat it up. While my oats are heating I work on Part 2 of this delicious breakfast.

Part 2: Eggs w/ veggies and goat cheese

This is the fun part because you can choose whichever vegetable combo you like. Some combinations that I like are: onion +spinach + mushroom + green peppers  OR tomato + basil.

Cook the veggies in olive oil. Add eggs (I go for 1 egg 2 egg whites). Add goat cheese (1 tbsp).

Add toppings for the oatmeal: a few blueberries, strawberries, blackberries or raspberries. Add 4-5 pecans (or walnuts). Add a dash of cinnamon.

The more often you make this breakfast, the quicker you get at making it. I have got this down to about 12 minutes. This breakfast is awesome for several reasons; it is healthy, balanced, tasty and satisfying. 

1 Comment

Filed under Cooking & Recipes

One response to ““A Healthy Way to Start Your Day”

  1. lacrossefit

    Check this out http://www.dailyfinance.com/2011/06/04/breakfast-cereals-americans-no-longer-love/

    People eating less cereal, and choosing (not the best option, but an improvement) egg based breakfast sandwiches over the last 52 weeks.

Leave a Reply

